Loading... Please wait...

Currency Converter

Choose a currency below to display product prices in the selected currency.

US Dollar

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the Chuck Brown Soul Searchers-Blow Your Whistle-70s Heavy Funk-NEW CD to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...

Our Newsletter

Chuck Brown Soul Searchers-Blow Your Whistle-70s Heavy Funk-NEW CD

  • Image 1
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Chuck Brown Soul Searchers-Blow Your Whistle-NEW CD

Blow Your Whistle --

Original Old School Breaks & Classic Funk Bombs

Soul Searchers


The funkiest work ever cut by Chuck Brown and The Soul Searchers -- a collection of the heaviest grooves from their two classic albums for Sussex Records! Consider the set a distillation of all that made Chuck great in the pre-GoGo years -- his incredible sense of rhythm, his fluid style of grooving, and his revolutionary approach to funk -- a sound that really set the Soul Searchers apart, even in their earliest recordings -- with a lean, clean style that almost balanced equal parts soul, funk, and jazz! Most tracks here have vocals, but there's a strong focus on the instrumentation too -- especially long percussion passages, vamping guitar, and bubbling organ lines.

Titles include "Blow Your Whistle", "I Rolled It You Hold It", "Ashley's Roachclip", "Soul To The People", "1993", "Funk To The Folks", "It's All In Your Mind", "Think", "We The People", and "If It Ain't Funky".

Soul Searchers, The ‎– Blow Your Whistle (Original Old School Breaks & Classic Funk Bombs)
Vampi Soul ‎– VAMPI CD 081
CD, Compilation
Funk / Soul

1     Blow Your Whistle

    Written-By – Chuck Brown, M. Kidd*

2     It’s All In Your Mind

    Written-By – Chuck Brown, J. Buchanan*

3     Think

    Written-By – James Brown

4     We The People

    Written-By – Chuck Brown, J. Buchanan*

5     Ain’t It Heavy

    Written-By – J. Buchanan*

6     If It Ain’t Funky

    Written-By – Chuck Brown

7     I Rolled It, You Hold It

    Written-By – J. Buchanan*

8     Funk To The Folks

    Written-By – J. Buchanan*

9     Ashley’s Roachclip

    Written-By – L. Pinchback*

10     1993

    Written-By – J. Buchanan*

11     Soul To The People

    Written-By – Soul Searchers*

12     Blowout

    Written-By – J. Buchanan*


    Bass – John Enwell*
    Compiled By, Liner Notes – James Maycock
    Congas, Percussion – Lino A. Druitt*
    Drums – Kenneth Scoggins
    Flute, Saxophone, Percussion – Lloyd Pinchback
    Guitar, Lead Vocals – Chuck Brown
    Organ – Hilton C. Selton Jr.*, Horace Brock
    Organ, Vocals – Bennie Braxton
    Producer – Carroll Hynson, Joe Tate
    Trombone, Piano, Synthesizer, Vocals – John Buchanan Jr.*
    Trumpet, Percussion, Vocals – Donald Tillery

Tracks 2-4 & 10-12 from the LP "We The People" (Sussex Records, 1972)
Tracks 1 & 5-9 from the LP "Salt Of The Earth" (Sussex Records, 1974)

Find Similar Products by Category

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!