Loading... Please wait...

Currency Converter

Choose a currency below to display product prices in the selected currency.

British Pound
US Dollar

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the JOHN & PHILIPA COOPER-Cooperville Times-'69 S.African Folk-Rock-NEW CD to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...

Our Newsletter

JOHN & PHILIPA COOPER-Cooperville Times-'69 S.African Folk-Rock-NEW CD

  • Image 1
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

JOHN & PHILIPA COOPER - The Cooperville Times,

South Africa 1969

(fresh music)


It was a long search to locate the rights for this album since it was not with EMI anymore. With the help of musicians and producers from The Third Eye and Freedoms Children we've found the original producer.

He told us that the brother/sister band John & Philipa Cooper went shortly after the album was made to Britain and there it lost track.
This amazing album has the same class as Billy Nichols, Duncan Browne and Blossom Toes.

Many other musicians from S.A. where helping out.

Every track is just great. Well composed underground songs, folk rock, effects, pop tunes just the right mixture for an album full of ideas and mastercraftly played. Perhaps one of the rarest albums from S.A.

This album would have been a great success if it was produced in UK.

It just has the right feel with the combination of great songs with an 60s art-vibe. Female / male vocals, Julian Laxton on guitar, keyboards, beside Jon & Philipa 8 more musicians on the album.

just a perfect 1969 underground folk-rock.


John & Philipa Cooper
The Cooperville Times

Fresh Music  FRESHCD 168

1         The Mad Professor     2:45    
2         Gyspy Spell     2:42    
3         I'll Be More Than Satisfied     2:08    
4         Wild Daydreams     2:35    
5         Edge Of Eternity     2:12    
6         My Pair Of Spectacles     2:26    
7         Man In A Bowler Hat     2:41    
8         Singing In My Soul     2:05    
9         She's My Woman     2:38    
10         Broomstick     2:33    
11         Good Old Sun     2:00    
Companies etc

    Marketed By – Fresh Music (2)
    Distributed By – Universal Music Group
    Manufactured By – CDT (2)
    Published By – Ardmore & Beechwood Ltd.


    Acoustic Guitar – Art de Villiers
    Arranged By – Werner Krupski
    Bass – Bob Hill (11)
    Drums – Andy Johnson (7), Ivor Back
    Engineer – Ken Talbot
    Fiddle – Francesco (23)
    Keyboards – Werner Krupski
    Lead Guitar – Julian Laxton
    Liner Notes – Benjy Mudie
    Producer – John S Norwell
    Remastered By – Gary Krause (2)
    Tambourine – Rory Blackwell (2)
    Vocals – John Cooper (10), Philipa Cooper
    Written-By – John Cooper (10), Philipa Cooper

Recorded in November 1968 and released by EMI South Africa in 1969, catalogue number PCSJ 12050.

Includes 8 page booklet with photographs, graphics, lyrics, and liner notes.

Find Similar Products by Category

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!