Loading... Please wait...

Currency Converter

Choose a currency below to display product prices in the selected currency.

British Pound
US Dollar

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the Barrabas-Power-'73 Funk–Rock-NEW LP to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...

Our Newsletter

Barrabas-Power-'73 Funk–Rock-NEW LP

  • Image 1
Calculated at checkout
Current Stock:

Product Description

Barrabas-Power-'73 Funk–Rock-NEW LP
Barrabas ‎– Power
Sommor ‎– SOMM070
Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Remastered, Gatefold
Rock, Funk / Soul
Prog Rock, Funk

"Power" was the second Barrabás album, originally released in 1973. As well as their first album, this is another great example of funk–rock, but this time with glam, hard & psych touches, including some of their most celebrated songs: "Casanova", "The Horse", "Children"...

After reaching international success with their first album, the line–up of Barrabas experienced some major changes: Fernando Arbex, more and more involved as songwriter and producer for other artists, leaves the drum kit, being replaced by drummer José María Moll (from Juan & Junior’s backing band). From now on, Fernando will focus on songwriting & production duties for Barrabas. Also, due to an accident, bass player / lead singer Iñaki Egaña is forced to leave the band. A new powerful singer is found: José Luis Tejada (from Los No, a legendary beat band from Barcelona). And finally original guitar player Miguel Morales switched to bass.

For the album recording, Arbex decided to use the same studio where they recorded the first Barrabas album: RCA in Madrid. J. Cobos was again the sound engineer and Fernando was the producer and main songwriter. "Power" was the result, released in 1973 housed in a glam–tastic gatefold sleeve. Highlights are "Mr. Money" (pure funk–rock which entered the US charts); the atmospheric "The Horse", the psych–funk of "Time To Love" or the catchy "Children", which was a big hit in South America, especially in Venezuela.

*First ever vinyl reissue in original gatefold cover artwork design.

*Remastered sound

*Four–panel color insert with detailed liner notes in English / Spanish & photos.
A1     Mr. Money

    Music By, Lyrics By – F. Arbex*

A2     Boogie Rock

    Music By, Lyrics By – F. Arbex*

A3     Keep On Moving

    Music By, Lyrics By – E. Morales*

A4     The Horse

    Music By – M. Morales*

B1     Casanova

    Music By, Lyrics By – F. Arbex*

B2     You Know

    Lyrics By – J. L. Tejada*Music By – M. Morales*, E. Morales*

B3     Children

    Music By – M. Morales*Music By, Lyrics By – F. Arbex*

B4     Time To Love

    Lyrics By – M. Gonzalez*Music By, Lyrics By – M. Morales*


    Arranged By – Barrabas
    Design Concept, Design – Fernando Arbex, L. Martin*, Richard Field
    Drums, Chorus – José Maria Moll
    Flute, Saxophone, Bass, Percussion, Vocals – Ernesto Duarte, Jr.
    Lead Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Vocals – Enrique Morales*
    Lead Vocals, Harmonica – José Luis Tejada
    Photography By – Martin J. Luis*
    Piano, Organ – Joao A. Vidal*
    Producer, Arranged By, Music Director – Fernando Arbex
    Recorded By – J. Cobos*
    Recorded By [Assistant] – M. Barrios*, Nacho Dogan

Gatefold sleeve + 4-page insert
Barcode and Other Identifiers

    Barcode: 4040824090531

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!