Loading... Please wait...

Currency Converter

Choose a currency below to display product prices in the selected currency.

British Pound
US Dollar

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the BETTY DAVIS-They Say I'm Different-BLUES FUNK-NEW CD to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...

Our Newsletter


  • Image 1
Calculated at checkout

Product Description



They Say I'm Different

new CD

Killer work from Betty Davis -- one of the most impressive female funk talents ever! If you ever needed a definition of funk, this record may well be it -- snapping drums, sharp-edged guitars, and sex-filled basslines that slink and slide all over the bottom of the grooves -- a perfect setting for Betty's incredible vocals -- which themselves have a smokey, raspy quality that's completely unique! At times, Davis is almost speaking, but at others she's practically screaming -- belting out the lyrics in a way that makes you feel like you're sharing some space with her at the end of the bar as she gets more and more wound up about issues and people who are on her mind. And as if the vocals weren't enough, the backings are incredible too -- filled with drum breaks and basslines that few other albums can match -- all wrapped around badass tunes that include "Shoo-B-Doop & Cop Him", "He Was A Big Freak", "70's Blues", "Git In There", "Special People", "Don't Call Her No Tramp", and "Your Mama Wants Ya Back". Expanded CD features new remastering, a deluxe 32 page booklet, and 4 previously unreleased bonus tracks that include Record Plant rough mixes of "70s Blues", "Git In There", "He Was A Big Freak", and "Don't Call Her No Tramp".

Betty Davis
They Say I'm Different

LITA 027
Originally Released 1974

1. Shoo-B-Doop and Cop Him
2. He Was A Big Freak - FULL MP3
3. Your Mama Wants Ya Back
4. Don't Call Her No Tramp
5. Git In There
6. They Say I'm Different
7. 70's Blues
8. Special People

Previously Unreleased (1973)
Record Plant Rough Mixes

9. He Was A Big Freak
10. Don't Call Her No Tramp
11. Git In There
12. 70's Blues

* First official Betty Davis reissues

* Mastered from the original tapes (first time since the '70s!)

* Previously unreleased bonus tracks

* Ice Cube, Talib Kweli, and Ludacris have rhymed over these tracks

* Betty recorded some of the finest punk-funk of all time, introduced Miles to Hendrix, and inspired generations

* Each CD release includes an elaborate digipak and deluxe 32-page booklet

* New notes from Oliver Wang (O-Dub/Soul Sides), including Betty's second interview in over 25 years!



Warranty Information


Find Similar Products by Category

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!