Loading... Please wait...

Currency Converter

Choose a currency below to display product prices in the selected currency.

British Pound
US Dollar

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the Bill Evans-Everybody Digs-'59 JAZZ PIANO-NEW LP 180gr DOXY to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...

Our Newsletter

Bill Evans-Everybody Digs-'59 JAZZ PIANO-NEW LP 180gr DOXY

  • Image 1
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Bill Evans

Everybody Digs Bill Evans




180 gram LP

Label: DOXY

brilliant trio LP w Sam Jones and Philly Joe Jones from 1959

Recorded in 1958 for Riverside, this was Evans' second album as leader, recorded shortly after he had officially left Miles Davis' legendary sextet and just before he returned to the sextet to record the era-defining ¿Kind Of Blue¿. Miles took a lot of flack for giving his piano slot to a white musician when there were plenty of talented black pianists out there, but Miles Davis was not interested in getting a good pianist, he wanted an exceptional pianist, and that is exactly what Evans was. Like Miles Davis, Evans became the standard by which other jazz musicians measured their own playing, and now there is hardly a jazz piano player around that can say that he has not in some way been influenced by ¿the Evans style of playing¿. With fellow Davis sideman Philly Joe Jones on drums, and Dizzy Gillespie's bass man, Sam Jones, on the bass, this trio album captures Evans at a critical moment in his career, having proven himself to peers and critics alike (as the cover testifies -with high praise from Davis, Ahmad Jamal, George Shearing and Cannonball Adderley), not only this is a much more confident and personal album than his first one, but it documents a totally new style of jazz piano playing that went on to influence generations to come. The album includes three originals, including the acclaimed ¿Peace Piece¿, along with Sonny Rollins' ¿Oleo¿, also a favorite of Davis at the time, Cole Porter's ¿Lucky to Be Me¿, and Gigi Gryce's ¿Minority¿, among others.

Also featured ¿Some Other Time¿ as bonus track.

1) Minority

2) Young And Foolish

3) Lucky To Be Me

4) Night And Day

5) Epilogue

6) Tenderly

7) Peace Piece

8) What Is There To Say

9) Oleo

10) Epilogue

11) Some Other Time (Bonus)




Find Similar Products by Category

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!