Loading... Please wait...

Currency Converter

Choose a currency below to display product prices in the selected currency.

British Pound
US Dollar

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the Cannibal & The Headhunters-Land Of 1000 Dances-Anthology Chicano Rock-NEW CD to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...

Our Newsletter

Cannibal & The Headhunters-Land Of 1000 Dances-Anthology Chicano Rock-NEW CD

  • Image 1
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Cannibal & The Headhunters-Anthology Chicano Rock

Cannibal & The Headhunters

Cannibal  & The Headhunters Anthology

new CD .

One of the all-time Chicano Rock classics from LA -- a soulful batch of party numbers from legendary east side group Cannibal & The Headhunters! The group scored big with their hit version of "Land Of 1000 Dances" -- a thumping, bumping take on the tune that was a runaway single in the 60s -- and which set the tone for the rest of their tunes, all done in a brown-eyed soul mode that often offered a new take on better known hits of the 60s! CD features 18 tracks in all -- the group's complete Rampart recordings, including the full album Land Of 1000 Dances, plus additional singles.

Titles include "Land Of 1000 Dances", "Out Of Sight", "My Girl", "Searchin", "Shotgun", "The Fat Man", "Nau Ninny Nau", "I'll Show You How To Love Me", "I Need Your Loving", and "Please Baby Please". CD contents are the same as the US collection on Varese -- with some very slight differences in the mono/stereo mixes.



new CD

    While you were listening to some high school teacher, these guys were sharing stages with the Stones and the Beatles. Cannibal & The Headhunters were born as a 4-piece vocal band in East L.A. and became immortal with their "LAND OF 1000 DANCES" -and that glorious "na-nananana" part. The song climbed to every U.S. chart and soon - when Richard "Scar" Lopez, Bobby "Rabbit" Jaramillo, Joe Jaramillo and Frankie "Cannibal" Garcia (whose nickname was born when he bit another kid during a fight) were 15, 16, 17 and 18 years old- the band was requested to tour with the Motown Revue, The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, The Righteous Brothers and many other bands all across the U.S. They also appeared on a number of television shows such as American Bandstand, Shebang, Hollywood A Go Go, Hullabaloo and Where The Action Is. In this anthology you'll find not only the radio-edited version of that hit single, but also a long-lost unedited version (the one they originally cut) and a live version crediting all their might.
    Cannibal and the Headhunters' style was molded on the soulful sounds of 60's Motown vocal groups, and their approach was absorbed by many Mexican American groups in East Los Angeles at the time, which shaped this community's own music scene, creating a style of its own known as the East Side Sound. In despite of the fabulous success of "Land of 1000 Dances" Cannibal & The Headhunters were much more than a one-hit-wonder case. These kids hit hard and they recorded their good share of amazing classics. And here is the proof: a complete compilation showing all their might and talents, mixing rock, doo-wop, Soul --all in that East L.A. chicano style. ¡A bailar!

    Songs: Land of 1.000 Dances (radio edited version); The Boy from New York City; My Girl; Don't Let Her Go; Searchin'; Out of Sight; Devil In Disguise; Shotgun; Here Comes Love; Get Your Baby; The Fat Man; I'll Show You How To Love; Nau, Ninny, Nau; Follow the Music; I Need Your Loving; Land of 1.000 Dances (long version); Please Baby Please; Introduction; Out of Sight; Nau, Ninny Nau; Mickey's Monkey; The Way You Do the Things You Do; Land of 1.000 Dances (Live); The Na, Na Na Song (Feat. Skylite).





1 Land Of 1000 Dances 2:17
2 The Boy From New York City 3:17
3 My Girl 2:55
4 Don't Let Her Go 2:21
5 Searchin' 2:42
6 Out Of Sight 2:05
7 Devil In Disguise 2:05
8 Shotgun 2:31
9 Strange World 2:11
10 Here Comes Love 2:12
11 Get Your Baby 2:10
12 The Fat Man 2:20
13 I'll Show You How To Love Me 2:40
14 Nau, Ninny, Nau 2:25
15 Follow The Music 2:36
16 I Need Your Loving 2:23
17 Land Of 1000 Dances (Original Long Version) 2:50
18 Please Baby Please 2:58


CDs can be shipped without jewelcases to save you on shippings.


Please check our other auctions for similar items and combine shippings.

For more Psychedelic Music,krautjazz,film music,eastern european jazz,exotica ,cult movies music check out:





Find Similar Products by Category

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!