Loading... Please wait...

Currency Converter

Choose a currency below to display product prices in the selected currency.

British Pound
US Dollar

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the DRAMA-Melodrama-'72 DUTCH Prog Rock,Blues,Post-psychedelia,West Coast-NEW LP 180 to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...

Our Newsletter

DRAMA-Melodrama-'72 DUTCH Prog Rock,Blues,Post-psychedelia,West Coast-NEW LP 180

  • Image 1
Calculated at checkout

Product Description






Drama has always been one of the most captivating of the Dutch one-album-bands in the early seventies. The band, featuring band members Polle Eduard (vocals, guitars), Ulli Grün (keyboards), Shell Shellekens (drums) and Frank van der Kloot (guitars, vocals), was founded from what was left of After Tea in 1971. Their album 'Drama' was recorded in the GTB Studios in The Hague with Hans van Oosterhout, who worked with Supersister and -after Drama- with the newly founded Alquin. The eight songs on the album show the wide musical interest of the band-members, culminating in a mixture of blues, post-psychedelica and dreamy west-coast orientated songs. In 1973, just a mere 18 months after their formation, Phonogram did not continue the contract and soon Drama split up. The band never reunited, but their album got some attention in 1997 when it was issued on CD by Pseudonym Records. Now, sixteen years later, the material of that s/t album forms the bulk of 'Melodrama'.

This is a high quality pressing on 180-gram audiophile GOLD COLOURED vinyl, featuring five tracks from the original 1972-album, which are augmented by five previously unreleased recordings. Among them is a longer version of the Frank van der Kloot-penned 'No Doctor'.

This LP on 180-gram vinyl comes housed in a deluxe fold out cover, full of rare memorabilia and exclusive liner notes featuring interviews with former band members. The recordings have been exclusively remastered from the original master-tapes.

Music Style: Progressive Rock, Blues, Post-psychedelia, West Coast.

Exclusively restored dynamic 24 bit remastering from the original master tapes.

The LP is a high quality audiophile pressing on 180-gram vinyl.

Comes with a deluxe 350-gram carton gatefold sleeve offering rare archival photos.

Chapter A
1. Dreamed I Was The President 4:49 2. I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man 7:56 3. Melodrama 4:33 4. Everywhere 5:02
Chapter B
1. Brains Or Not 6:36 2. No Doctor - Part I 3:40 3. No Doctor - Part II 1:34 4. No Doctor - Part III 4:19 5. Give Up & Go 2:31 6. Lifetime 3:35

Tracks A1-3, B1, 5 from the 1972 LP Drama Tracks A4, B2-4, 6 previously unreleased demo-recordings



Find Similar Products by Category

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!