Loading... Please wait...

Currency Converter

Choose a currency below to display product prices in the selected currency.

British Pound
US Dollar

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the MILES DAVIS-Milesin'-HARD BOP JAZZ-NEW 3 LP to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...

Our Newsletter


  • Image 1
Calculated at checkout

Product Description




 3 LP



On May 11 and October 26, 1956 the Miles Davis Quintet, featuring John Coltrane on tenor sax, Red Garland on piano, Paul Chambers on bass and “Philly” Joe Jones on drums, went into the studio to record two mammoth sessions in the Rudy Van Gelder studio.

This studio time resulted in four legendary hard bop albums: Cookin', Relaxin', Workin', and Steamin' with the Miles Davis Quintet. For these sessions the quintet simply played their live set straight through, as if they were playing at a club.

One take. That’s it. And as a result, these albums are as close as anyone (who wasn't there) will ever come to knowing what the one of the most memorable jazz combos in history must have sounded like live.

The incredible tension between all five musicians shines through—Miles' poised and sparing trumpet in stark contrast with Coltrane’s more urgent and note heavy sax, backed by one of the best rhythm sections in jazz—and the studio banter that can be heard makes it feel like you are in a stage-side seat.

Interestingly, there is very little original material, but what we do have is a glimpse straight into the heart of what was popular in jazz music at the time.

Because of the unique way in which these albums were recorded, it is only fitting that they be brought together in one package, and on vinyl as nature intended.

Now they have also been remastered by the original sound engineer Rudy Van Gelder himself, who commented, “I remember those sessions well, I remember how the musicians wanted to sound...

Today, I feel strongly that I am their messenger.”

1) Surrey With The Fringe On Top

2) Salt Peanuts

3) Something I Dreamed Last Night

4) When I Fall In Love

5) It Never Entered My Mind

6) Four

7) In Your Own Sweet Way

8) Ahmad's Blues

9) Diane

10) It Could Happen To You

11) The Theme (Take 1)

12) Trane's Blues

13) My Funny Valentine

14) Blues By Five

15) Airegin

16) Woody'n'You

17) The Theme (Take 2)

18) If I Were A Bell

19) You're My Everything

20) I Could Write A Book

21) Oleo

22) Well You Needn't

23) Half Nelson

24) Tune Up/When The Lights Are Low

Find Similar Products by Category

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!