Loading... Please wait...

Currency Converter

Choose a currency below to display product prices in the selected currency.

British Pound
US Dollar

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the The Deep-Psychedelic Moods (A Mind Expanding Phenomena)-NEW 3LP to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...

Our Newsletter

The Deep-Psychedelic Moods (A Mind Expanding Phenomena)-NEW 3LP

  • Image 1
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

The Deep-Psychedelic Moods (A Mind Expanding Phenomena)-NEW 3LP

The Deep (9), Inner Sanctum (11) ‎– Psychedelic Moods (A Mind Expanding Phenomena)



This 1966 LP (originally on Cameo Parkway) was recorded by psych-pioneer RUSTY EVANS, with a little help from songwriting partner and producer Mark Barkan, the legendary David Bromberg (who's played with Bob Dylan and many others) and a bevy of spirited exploitation studio musicians.

'Psychedelic Moods' is filled with incredible fuzzed out garage outings, trippy ballads and mind bending weirdness.

This definitive version of 'Psychedelic Moods' comes with two extra platters presenting all the recordings by related project INNER SANCTUM a.k.a. HYDRO PYRO, plus alternate versions of the DEEP tracks. This splendid reissue has remastered sound and is packaged in a tip-on gatefold jacket.


The Deep (9), Inner Sanctum (11) ‎– Psychedelic Moods (A Mind Expanding Phenomena)
Lion Productions ‎– Lion-LP 150
Psychedelic Moods –
3 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Deluxe Edition, Reissue
Psychedelic Rock
        Stereo LP
A1     –The Deep (9)     Color Dreams     
A2     –The Deep (9)     Pink Ether     
A3     –The Deep (9)     When Rain Is Black     
A4     –The Deep (9)     It's All A Part Of Me     
A5     –The Deep (9)     Turned On     
A6     –The Deep (9)     Psychedelic Moon     
B1     –The Deep (9)     Shadows On The Wall     
B2     –The Deep (9)     Crystal Nite     
B3     –The Deep (9)     Trip #76     
B4     –The Deep (9)     Wake Up And Find Me     
B5     –The Deep (9)     Your Choice To Choose     
B6     –The Deep (9)     On Off - Off On     
        From The Deep Sessions
C1     –The Deep (9)     When Rain is Black (Alternates)     
C2     –The Deep (9)     Trip #76 (Takes 1/2/3)     
C3     –The Deep (9)     Psychedelic Moon (Alternate Version)     
C4     –The Deep (9)     Your Choice To Choose (Takes 1-4)     
C5     –The Deep (9)     Trip #76 (Alternate Version)     
C6     –The Deep (9)     Black, White And Gray (demo Version Of “When Rain Is Black”)     
        Inner Sanctum (aka Hydro Pyro)
D1     –Inner Sanctum (11)     The House Of Yesterday     
D2     –Inner Sanctum (11)     ID     
D3     –Inner Sanctum (11)     Hydro-Pyro     
D4     –Inner Sanctum (11)     Purple Floating (false Start + Take)     
D5     –Inner Sanctum (11)     Snow Petals     
D6     –Inner Sanctum (11)     Little Tin Soldier     
D7     –Inner Sanctum (11)     The Man Who Shot Your Mother     
D8     –Inner Sanctum (11)     Snow Petals (Alternate)     
        More From The Deep Sessions
E1     –The Deep (9)     Color Dreams (Alternate Version)     
E2     –The Deep (9)     Pink Ether (Intro + Take 1)     
E3     –The Deep (9)     It's All A Part Of Me (Take 1)     
E4     –The Deep (9)     Turned On (Take 1-2)     
E5     –The Deep (9)     Shadows On The Wall     
F1     –The Deep (9)     Crystal Night (False Starts + Alternate Version)     
F2     –The Deep (9)     Trip #76 (Take 4)     
F3     –The Deep (9)     Trip #76 (Take 5)     
F4     –The Deep (9)     Wake Up And Find Me (Intro + Take 1)     
F5     –The Deep (9)     Your Choice To Choose (Alternate Version)     
F6     –The Deep (9)     Off On Off On (Alternate version)     
Companies, etc.

    Published By – Rybar Music
    Recorded At – Cameo Parkway Studios


    Art Direction – Douglas Fiske
    Artwork – Rusty Evans
    Producer – Mark Barkan, Rusty Evans
    Technician [Audio Restoration] – Anders Peterson

Some of the "Inner Sanctum" material was first released on Psychedelic Moods Part Two / Journey Thru Inner Space With Hydro Pyro And Others
under the name "Hydro Pyro".

Expanded deluxe edition of The Deep's one and only album, originally released in 1966 and now well-established as a psychedelic classic. One night in a darkened Philadelphia studio, the Deep (Rusty Evans, songwriting partner and producer Mark Barkan, the legendary David Bromberg, whose credits include playing with Bob Dylan and many others, plus a bevy of talented musicians) laid down tempestuous garage punkers, sweetly-twisted ballads and ambiguous weirdness, all rife with hyper-psychedelic lyrical flashes of a rolling midnight expressway through the subconscious mind. A perfect representation of the psychedelic sound: free-form poetry, infectious drum beats, fuzzed out guitar, and playfully plucked bass (and vibes and tympani and so on), swirl together, coalescing into some of the most impressive psychedelic rock you'll hear. Cuts like 'Your Choice To Choose,' sound very Seeds-like or proto-Velvet Underground, Lou Reed snarl and all; others like 'Shadows On The Wall' and 'Wake Up and Find Me' are haunting acid ballads: the whole point of the album was to thoroughly explore the hallucinatory agony and ecstasy of a 12-hour Technicolor dream... although the end result is more amphetamine edgy than acid-soaked trippy. The Deep "Psychedelic Moods" pre-dates its closest kindred sprit in sound and energy (albeit not subject matter): “The Velvet Underground and Nico" came along five months later, and the world of music shifted on its axis—but too late for the Deep.

This 3xLP release of “Psychedelic Moods” is taken from the original four-track master tapes. In addition to the superlative master takes, there are three sides of out-takes and alternates from the Deep original four-track session tapes. This set also marks the vinyl debut of all known recordings by Inner Sanctum (aka Hydro Pyro), another LSD trip project produced by Mark Barkan in 1966. Tip-on gatefold art has liner notes detailing the mysterious rise and fall of this New York City band. Made with full co-operation of original Deep producers, Mark Barkan and Rusty Evans. A definitive example of the psychedelic sound.

"Something of a psych fan's dream, this LP was recorded in August 1966, when the idea of a conceptual acid album was completely uncharted territory. Consequently, Rusty Evans and his NYC ex-folkie pals managed to create an LP that sounds fresh many decades later. The twelve tracks are essentially a series of musical trip reports covering the whole emotional spectrum, from chaos and euphoria to introspection and melancholy, with an intense, challenging atmosphere." —Patrick Lundborg, Acid Archives

Find Similar Products by Category

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!