Loading... Please wait...

Currency Converter

Choose a currency below to display product prices in the selected currency.

British Pound
US Dollar

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the V.A.-TWISTIN RUMBLE VOL.1-SWINGIN'EST DANCE PARTY EVER-NEW CD to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...

Our Newsletter


  • Image 1
Calculated at checkout
Current Stock:

Product Description

Twistin Rumble Vol 1 --

29 Cuts Of Soulstomp, Twist-Party Lunacy, Garage R&B, & Craziness 1960 to 1968


Anonymous label of dubious origin compiling the ten (so far!) volume series 'Twistin Rumble'. Despite the cheap sleeve design and lack of such things as copyright info, original label, composer credits and so on - the people behind the series have superb taste and these albums all contain great and obscure raw soul, rhythm n' blues, jungle exotica, novelty rockers, titty shakers and all manner of twisted delights from the golden age (1950s and 60s).

Rough and raw grooves -- way more than you might guess from the "twist" reference in the title! The sound here is more R&B than anything else -- lots of heavy drums, honking sax, burning organ, and riffing guitar -- but there's also some echoes of Latin rhythms, rockabilly raunch, and some 60s soul elements too -- all percolating together wonderfully in a way that sounds like somebody blew the dust off a gritty pile of 45s, then filled them up to blast away in a decades-old jukebox in a tavern on the other side of the tracks!

The CD version of Twistin Rumble Vol 1 collects many of the tracks from Twistin Rumble Volumes 1 & 2 vinyl -- with plenty of rare gems -- including

"The Bonecracker" by Johnny & The Debonairs, "Sweet Bacon" by Julian Covey, "Swingin Drums" by Ronnie Kae, "King Cobra" by The Wildtones, "Driving Wheel" by Mac Sims, "Funky Onions" by Matthew Childs, "Where's My Pussycat" by Terry & The Topics, "A Little Bit Of Everything" by Jocko, "Classie's Whip" by Classie Ballou, "Do The Robot" by Marvulus Mickey, "Oh Yeah" by The El Cobras, "I Want To Know" by Merle Spears, "Carl's Dance Party" by Carl Lattimore, "Cruise" by The Ambertones, "Big Bo's Iron Horse" by Big Bo & The Arrows, "Sha Ba Dah" by Higgs & Wilson, "Rooster Knees & Rice" by Clarence & Calvin, and "Hornet's Nest" by Curtis Knight.

29 tracks in all.

1     –Upsetters, The (4)     Upsetter     
2     –Johnny & The Debonairs*     The Bonecracker     
3     –Terry & The Topics     Where's My Pussycat     
4     –Aztecs, The (3)     Damelo Baby     
5     –Jocko     A Little Bit Of Everything     
6     –Julian Covey*     Sweet Bacon     
7     –Quarter Notes*     The Interview     
8     –Buddy Vincent     Wooden Bird Twist     
9     –Ronnie Kay*     Swingin Drums     
10     –Wildtones*     King Cobra     
11     –Mac Sims     Driving Wheel     
12     –Matthew Childs     Funky Onions     
13     –Nick Ashford*     I Don't Need No Doctor     
14     –Ambertones*     Cruise     
15     –Carl Lattimore     Carl's Dance Party     
16     –Knight Brothers, The*     Love (Can't You Hear Me)     
17     –Big Bo & The Arrows*     Big Bo's Iron Horse     
18     –Furys, The*     Zing Went The Strings     
19     –Clarence* & Calvin*     Rooster Knees & Rice     
20     –Higgs & Wilson     Sha-Ba-Dah     
21     –Ervin Rucker     Done Done The Slop     
22     –Classie Ballou     Classie's Whip     
23     –Marvulus Mickey     Do The Robot     
24     –Bowlegs     Hunky Twist     
25     –El-Cobras, The*     Oh Yeah     
26     –Ken Jones (12)     Chicken Pot Pie     
27     –Merle Spears     I Want To Know     
28     –Famous George     Last Night     
29     –Curtis Knight     Hornet's Nest    




Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!