Loading... Please wait...

Currency Converter

Choose a currency below to display product prices in the selected currency.

United States US Dollar

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the Metro's Midnight Music-Rare Jazz Tracks '70-75-NEW CD to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...

Our Newsletter

Metro's Midnight Music-Rare Jazz Tracks '70-75-NEW CD

  • Image 1
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Metro's Midnight Music-Rare Jazz Tracks '70-75-NEW CD

Metro's Midnight Music --

Rare Jazz Tracks From The Dutch NOS Radio Show 1970 to 1975


A rare jazz treasure from the European scene of the early 70s -- killer material from a wealth of American artists and local talents -- all done as special sessions for Dutch radio, and never issued to the public on record!

Despite the radio origins of the music, the sound here is tremendous -- easily on a par with the best MPS sessions of the time -- which is no surprise, given that many of the artists here worked in similar circles!

The first half of the set features the trio of pianist Louis Van Dyke augmented with guests who include Mark Murphy, Helen Merrill, Eddie Jefferson, Toots Thielemans, Herb Geller, and Dave Pike -- all stepping out into the spotlight while Van Dyke's combo backs them up with lively grooves that are often heavy on bossa influences!

The second half features larger orchestrations from The Metropole Orchestra -- a soaring big band who groove wonderfully, often in support of vocals from Murphy or Greetje Kauffeld, but also featuring instrumental solos from European players Ack Van Rooyen, Piet Nordijk, Ferdinand Povel, and others.

The whole set is worth it alone for the vocals of Murphy -- because the record easily stands as some of his best work ever from this decade -- and given how great Mark was at the time, that's really saying a lot!

Small group titles include "Children Of The Sun", "So What", "Love Sick", "Sao Paulo", "Con Alma", "Seventh Day", and "Falling In Love With Love" -- and bigger group numbers include "Out Of This World", "My Shining Hour", "Let's Fall In Love", "Get Happy", "I'll Wind", "This Time The Dream's On Me", "Paper Moon", "One For My Baby", "Come Rain Or Come Shine", and "That Old Black Magic".

37 tracks in all! (And don't miss the Mark Murphy Happy Samba 7" -- which features different material from the same sessions!)

CDs can be shipped without jewelcases to save you on shippings.

Please check our other auctions for similar items and combine shippings.

For more Psychedelic Music,krautjazz,film music,eastern european jazz,exotica ,cult movies music check out:





Find Similar Products by Category

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!