Loading... Please wait...

Currency Converter

Choose a currency below to display product prices in the selected currency.

British Pound
US Dollar

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the Blast Furnace-s/t-'71 obscure Danish hard-prog rock-NEW LP to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...

Our Newsletter

Blast Furnace-s/t-'71 obscure Danish hard-prog rock-NEW LP

  • Image 1
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Blast Furnace-s/t-'71 obscure Danish hard-prog rock-NEW LP

Blast Furnace    

Blast Furnace 

new LP

BLAST FURNACE¿s eponymous debut album was released in 1971

Great eponymous album ( originally released 1971) from this obscure band based in Denmark. This is one of the best Danish albums

 Brilliant song writing in the tradition of The Beatles, Jethro Tull and Pretty Things (during their fertile period from 1968-1970), which sadly never achieved much commercial success- like many of the best records! blast furnace never specialised in excessive, long instrumental widdling like some of their contemporaries: rather, they played superb hard-progressive rock with real strong guitar flashes, wild vocals and razor-sharp instrumental breaks balanced between electric guitar, Hammond organ and flute.

The lineup was: Arne W¿rgler (pre PAN) on bass and cello , Niels Vangkilde (guitar), Thor Backhausen (organ/ flute) and Tom Mc Evan (lead vocals/drums)- if you find these names familiar, that's because they all later joined Culpepper's Orchard.

"BLAST FURNACE were 3 lads from Copenhagen and a singing drummer from Britain called Tom McEwan who ended up in the Danish capital. Arne Würgler (bass, cello) played previously in Jazz formations and also, interesting for Progressive Rock fans, with PAN who released a wonderful LP on Sonet in 1970. Thor Backhausen (organ, piano, flute) a multitalented musician and the then 18-year-old Niels Vangkilde (guitar) completed BLAST FURNACE. This was the 1971 line-up who recorded the eponymous album in Copenhagen¿s Rosenberg studios for Polydor/Denmark. ¿Lister Du Omkring Hjorner¿ was also recorded for a planned single release.

Album sales did not match the high musical quality of the record and the fact that every-one in Copenhagen¿s small music scene played and jammed with everyone else meant that the band¿s life was short-lived. Bands came and went and the musicians found themselves in other groups. Tom McEwan and Niels Vangkilde joined the cult band Culpeper¿s Orchard and played on their third LP, 1972¿s ¿Going for a Song¿ on Polydor/Denmark; also a good and recommendable Album. Arne Würgler worked with Benny Holst and Thor Backhausen carried on with Delta Blues Band and Culpeper´s Orchard.

BLAST FURNACE¿s music shines through excellent song writing and musical competence. Balanced instrumental passages with razor edged guitars, harmonious Hammond organ and flute with a touch of aggressive singing are the ingredients for an impressive and pleasureable listening experience. Contrary to their counterparts, BLAST FURNACE chose not to indulge in long instrumentals or long drawn out improvisation. The songs are clearly structured, lively and rounded off with intelligent and critical lyrics. They are a product of their time and still, even with their clear structuring, definitely to be categorised under the label ¿Progressive-Rock¿. Dag Erik Asbjornsen praised the LP as one of the best Danish productions, a classic album in the tradition of the Beatles, Traffic and Jethro Tull."

Blast Furnace (2) ‎– Blast Furnace
Long Hair ‎– LHC 042
Vinyl, Album, Reissue, LP
Prog Rock


A1     First And Last

    Backing Vocals – Thor Backhausen

A2     Ginger Cake     5:34
A3     Jaywalker     4:14
A4     B-Major Blast

    Harmonica – Arne Würgler

A5     This Time Of Year     4:14
A6     Lister Du Omkring Hjorner     
B1     Toytown

    Cello – Arne Würgler

B2     Man Bites Dog

    Piano – Tom McEwan

B3     Long Distance     4:03
B4     Goodbye Mr. Bobo     2:41
B5     Dr. Night

    Backing Vocals – Terese Damsholt

B6     Bye Bye Bobo     1:28

    Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar – Niels Vangkilde
    Arranged By, Producer – Blast Furnace (2)
    Backing Vocals – Anne-Lise Rosberg (tracks: 1, 3, 6), Arne Würgler (tracks: 1, 3), Niels Vangkilde (tracks: 1 to 3, 10)
    Bass, Acoustic Guitar – Arne Würgler
    Drums, Congas, Percussion, Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals – Tom McEwan
    Engineer – Freddy Hansen*
    Lead Vocals – Arne Würgler (tracks: 5, 12)
    Organ, Piano, Flute – Thor Backhausen
    Producer – Casper (18), Freddy Hanson*

Barcode and Other Identifiers

    Barcode: 4035177000429


CDs can be shipped without jewelcases to save you on shippings.

Please check our other auctions for similar items and combine shippings.

For more Psychedelic Music,krautjazz,film music,eastern european jazz,exotica ,cult movies music check out:




Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!