Loading... Please wait...

Currency Converter

Choose a currency below to display product prices in the selected currency.

British Pound
US Dollar

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the Jonathan Richman-No Me Quejo de Mi Estrella-NEW CD to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...

Our Newsletter

Jonathan Richman-No Me Quejo de Mi Estrella-NEW CD

  • Image 1
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Jonathan Richman-No Me Quejo de Mi Estrella-NEW CD

No Me Quejo de Mi Estrella CD

by Jonathan Richman ( Munster)




1 La Guitarra Flamenca Negra  
2 La Fiesta Es Para Todos  
3 You Can Have A Cell Phone That's Ok But Not Me  
4 Because Her Beauty Is Raw And Wild  
5 No One Was Like Vermeer  
6 When We Refuse To Suffer (I)  
7 When We Refuse To Suffer (II)  
8 Here It Is  
9 Old World  
10 My Baby Love Love Loves Me  
11 Not So Much To Be Loved As To Love  
12 My Love For Her Ain't Sad  
13 Her Mystery Not Of High Heels And Eye Shadow  
14 I Took A Chance On Her  
15 Maybe A Walk Home From Natick High School  
16 Con El Merengue

"He gave us the wine to taste it, not to talk about it." Jonathan asks us to let the songs "swim in their own water", like that desire of Coltrane to release a record with no liner notes whatsoever and let the music speak for itself. It's better that words do not imprison us, so "cantante, a cantar!" (Sing, singer!)

But perhaps the listener may appreciate a little explanation about this collection. Jonathan intended it as a gift for his audiences in Spain (and outside the US in general): to give them a selection of songs that are well known through live shows but not so easy to find on CD or LP up until now, given the fact that records such as "Her Mystery Not Of High Heels And Eye Shadow" or "Not So Much To Be Loved As To Love" are out of print today.

On the other hand, all of the songs in this collection -chronologically ordered from the present backwards to the past- were written in the 21st century, so this record fulfills a second function as a thermometer of Jonathan's music in the new millennium, in the fourth decade of his unique music career. This goes to show that we got a whole lotta JoJo going on, that we have here a rare case of a musician who gets richer, more colorful and stronger with time, yet never forgetting his original flavor. Just like a good wine.

Munster Records is proud to present "No me quejo de mi estrella" as a sample of Jonathan's most recent body of songs. You could pick sixteen different titles and still come up with an equally solid album, because the "duende" of this music does not come from a particular hit single but from the soul, from the connection with that Great Spirit where music and beauty are born. It is not then a question of "greatest hits" but of love. Still, the sixteen songs we present to you here have good credentials, as their author personally chose them for this collection.

The spell of these songs is not of artifice and pretentiousness, "not of high heels and eye shadow", not of ornament nor of anything in your hair. It is something deep, a raw and wild beauty such as that which is "at the core of the stars we see". It is the mystery of the eternal and arcane sound of the flamenco guitar, the mystery of rock'n'roll: an open secret. A brave American poet told us so: "Guard the Mysteries! Constantly reveal them!" As the listeners will find out for themselves, the charms and incantations in this collection bring you the always familiar yet constantly renewed air of revelation. Cantante, a cantar!

David Menéndez



  • Artist: Jonathan Richman
  • Record Label: Munster

Find Similar Products by Category

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!